The databases listed below are some of the most popular resources for Architecture students, faculty, and staff. A full list of all available databases can be found through the A-Z databases.
Art & Architecture Thesaurus
“Maintained by the Getty Research Institute, this thesaurus has more than 131,000 terms, as well as other information about concepts used to describe art, architecture, decorative arts, material culture, and archival material.”
Avery Index
“The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals indexes more than 1,000 periodicals published worldwide in the fields of architecture, landscape architecture, interior design, urban planning and historic preservation.”
Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts
“Over 170 searchable ebooks which combine visual inspiration with practical advice on idea generation, research techniques, portfolio development and more, across the main visual arts disciplines including fashion and textiles, design and illustration, photography, film and media, architecture and interiors, and marketing and advertising.”
Bloomsbury Design Library
“Images, encyclopedias and ebooks about design and crafts worldwide, from 1500 BCE to the present day.”
Ebook Central
“Digital copies of more than 30,000 complete books, reports and other resources covering all academic subject areas.”
JSTOR
“JSTOR digitally archives more than 700 scholarly journals. Subjects include African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, business, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, and more.”
Oxford Art Online
“Use this resource for information of the visual arts world, from prehistory to the present day. Full text articles, images and charts, and links to web material.”
RefWorks
“Bibliography manager saves your citations and formats them into APA, MLA, or other styles.”